It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Gold...sell it or keep it???

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Mar, 2 2010 @ 12:56 PM
link   
My buddy has some gold coins and he's wondering if he should sell them now, and use the money to buy things like ammo, canned goods, water filters, etc., or hold onto them.
Would it be wiser to have survival items after a global economic collapse, or the actual gold coins?
Thanks.

posted on Mar, 2 2010 @ 01:15 PM
link   
Can you eat gold, use gold to shoot a rabbit, plant a pear tree, or burn it to heat your home?

Not to be trite, but holding onto gold at this point is a fools errand. It's only a matter of time before it crashes. If he bought low, this is the time to sell high.

*** Disclaimer ***
I am not a monetary expert, nor am I a stock broker or commodities trader or in any way anyone who's opion would matter in a court of law, so all you would be and actual lawyers, back off and let me spout off my opinion for what it's worth. Thank you and have a nice day (some restrictions may apply)

posted on Mar, 2 2010 @ 01:18 PM
link   
Tell him I'll buy them- $100/ounce.

I also need to borrow money to help my brother who's a prince in Nigeria, if you slide another $200 for that I'll make you rich in two weeks.

posted on Mar, 2 2010 @ 01:19 PM
link   
reply to post by Romans 10:9

Tell your buddy not to come to ATS for advice regarding investing.

Best bet, I promise.

posted on Mar, 2 2010 @ 01:21 PM
link   
This is a debate I frequently have with my father. In my opinion, one who buys gold and/or silver as a financial solution; or for that matter even bullets and guns - has simply not made their mental image of a "worst case scenario" big enough.

Ask your friend this... Can you eat bullets? Can gold or silver coins by themselves offer nourishment?