It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

the "off button"

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Feb, 17 2010 @ 12:55 PM
link   
Hi fellow ATS users.

i've been wondering and pondering with this idea/thought for a long time.
didn't have the required posts to make a topic about this.

the following;
i've been researching conspiracy theories for about 4/5 years now and still have a long way to go.
as i'm fairly young (22 years of age) and got my whole life ahead of me, i'm not sure what to do at this point.

the problem i've got is the following, since i've been reading up on conspiracy theories, my way of thinking and expressing myself have changed. (i'd like to think they've changed for the better)
i think it thought me to look more critically at things, from various viewpoints and also thought me that not everything is as it seems.
while these are all good things, there is another side to this story...

sometimes, when i read something on the web or hear something on the news, it enrages me. it enrages me a whole lot, to the point where i've little control left over myself. so infuriating.
but i don't have anywhere to go with this anger / frustration.
friends look at me like i'm some kinda nutjob
believing in some of these conspiracies. my mum and dad think i went mental also, but they still have an awfull lot of respect for me.
the feeling of powerlessness is the worst, the thought of knowing that you, yourself, can't change the current situation or problems in the world, is what bothers me most.

that's why i'd like to ask you guys, if you don't sometimes wish you had an 'off-button' (hence the thread title)
that you just could go back to being a sheep. which in itself is a very loose used term of which i'm not sure what it describes.