It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Federal Reserve Makes Record $46.1 Billion Profit in 2009

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 12 2010 @ 03:17 PM
link   

Federal Reserve Makes Record $46.1 Billion Profit in 2009

www.foxnews.com

The Federal Reserve says it made a record profit of $46.1 billion last year as the central bank made money off its extraordinary efforts to rescue the country from the worst economic and financial crisis since the 1930s.

The Fed says the bigger profit was primarily due to increased income from the securities it held last year
(visit the link for the full news article)

posted on Jan, 12 2010 @ 03:17 PM
link   
I'm no Economics expert, but I find this story is no surprise, and very sickening to say the least.

so people are struggling all over the globe just now, companies closing, losing jobs, losing savings, yet the Fed boasts a record breaking, whopping profit of $46.1 billion !!!

just goes to show who the winners and losers really are in our world.

www.foxnews.com
(visit the link for the full news article)

posted on Jan, 12 2010 @ 04:00 PM
link   
What I find most interesting is that they declare a profit but that is all generated internally, isn't it? I mean, the Fed will NOT be audited, so we do not know how they cook the books. I have heard all sorts of accusations that the Fed has purchased something around 80% of US Bonds in 2009.

That could be rumor, but the fact remains that this number could be pulled out of thin air (just like Federal Reserve Notes) and there is nothing we can do about it but take their word for it.

At least the Fed is not asking for a bailout. lol.

posted on Jan, 12 2010 @ 05:42 PM
link   
Uhh..