It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Ask a Tax Lawyer about the Tax Law

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 4 2010 @ 08:47 PM
link   
I am a Tax Lawyer. There are a lot of myths and misconceptions about the tax laws out there. For example, many people think that rich people pay zero taxes or that you do not have to pay income taxes because the Supreme Court held the federal income tax is unconstitutional. However, that is not to say that some of these beliefs may be rooted in truth. Rich people can use sophisticated tax planning techniques to lower their tax bill. Courts have held some tax statutes were unconstitutional under limited circumstances like retroactively assessed taxes.

This thread will be limited to myths and misconceptions about tax laws. I will not give legal advice on this thread, so please do not ask me if you can deduct this or exclude that.

So anyway, hit me with your questions or comments.

posted on Jan, 4 2010 @ 09:07 PM
link   
reply to post by hotpinkurinalmint

Hey, I am due to inherit some money, lets say 100k, from an irrevocable trust held in Massachusetts from my Grandmother in June. I live in WI. It is currently in various securities/ bonds and what not. If I ask for everything to be liquidized, and then a check sent to me, what are the tax ramifications? Does this count as income for me? Does this have anything to do with the death tax issue?/

Thanks,
SN

posted on Jan, 4 2010 @ 09:19 PM
link   
reply to post by skunknuts

I am not going to give you legal advice, but I will clarify a few things. I do not know much about Wisconsin state tax law or the intricacies of Massachusetts state law, which could also be important in your situation.