AboveTopSecret.com Video and Media Portal.Books, posters, and more.T-shirts, mouse pads, cups, and bags.Member podcasts.Conspiracy theory wiki.Alternative news headlinesBelowTopSecret.com - off topic and general chit chat.AboveTopSecret.com - conspiracy theories and


 

 

This topic is in the [HOAX!] discussion forum.  (rss)


Heads up...new computer virus...warning !




Topic started on 3-11-2009 @ 05:59 AM by radarloveguy


PLEASE READ BELOW AND PASS ON AS

SOON AS POSSIBLE.



TREVOR SMALLWOOD

BRISBANE OFFICE

Tel +61(0) 7 32221347 Ext 17347 Fax +61(0) 7 32221219

www.afp.gov.au



PLEASE INFORM EVERYONE



Emails with pictures of Osama Bin-Laden hanged are being sent and the moment that

you open these emails your computer will crash and you will not be able to fix it!

If you get an email along the lines of 'Osama Bin Laden Captured'

or 'Osama Hanged' don't open the attachment.

This e-mail is being distributed through countries around the globe .

Be considerate & send this warning to whomever you know.

PLEASE FORWARD THIS WARNING AMONG FRIENDS, FAMILY AND CONTACTS:

You should be alert during the next days:

Do not open any message with an attached filed called

'Invitation' regardless of who sent it.

It is a virus that opens an Olympic Torch which 'burns' the whole hard disc C of your

computer.

This virus will be received from someone who has your e-mail address in his/her

contact list, that is why you should send this e-mail to all your contacts.

It is better to receive this message 25 times than to receive the virus and open it.

If you receive a mail called 'invitation', though sent by a friend, do not open it and shut

down your computer immediately.

This is the worst virus announced by CNN, it has been classified by Microsoft as the

most destructive virus ever.

This virus was discovered by McAfee yesterday, and there is no repair yet for this kind

of virus.

This virus simply destroys the Zero Sector of the Hard Di sc, where the vital information

is kept.



Thanking you









M P Readman

Senior Constable

Sunshine Coast District

Crime Prevention Co ordinator

P. 54 75 2405

F. 54 43 7620








--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

From: Warner.JohnE[NCR]
Sent: Friday, 9 October 2009 9:21 AM

contact securityscanner@police.qld.gov.au.

This footnote also confirms that this email message has
been checked for the presence of computer viruses.
**********************************************************************

[edit on 3-11-2009 by radarloveguy]

[edit on 3-11-2009 by radarloveguy]



   copyright & usage 
Click here for more [HOAX!] topics
Hot Topics   |   Top Topics   |   This Week   |   Subscribe   |   Home


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 06:11 AM by grifta


A Hoax my friend.

Link to report of virus hoax

Seen lots of these turning up lately - dont know if Ive been unlucky or there are more about - I had one from Her Majestys Revenue Office saying i was due for a tax rebate this morning..... And I probably am, but no way am i going to enter my credit card number for the cash to be debited back!!! I know its not exactly the same as a virus hoax, but i lump it all under "waste of time emails" banner!



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 06:23 AM by unicorn1


Most email forwarding warnings are hoaxes. Plus they clog up the internet and put your address out there for all to see, leading to more spam at the least. We should never ever forward this sort of rubbish. We shouldn't be clicking on unknown mail to start with.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 06:25 AM by GW8UK


Trevor 'Smallwood' hahaha,
if i opened an email from a grown man and saw capital letter party then i would immediately know chainmaill.



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 06:37 AM by radarloveguy


reply to post by GW8UK



I'm sure he didn't choose his own surname !

.... sounds real to me.... he is a cyber-crime fighter




   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 07:16 AM by Karlhungis


5 flags and 4 stars for a thread that is proven to be a hoax in the first reply? Wow, it is getting bad.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 07:23 AM by quackers


reply to post by radarloveguy



A cyber crime fighter who thinks viruses physically destroy sectors on a hard drive? A cyber crime fighter warning of a virus without giving any references to the actual virus (i.e. win32
/virtumonde.b) or any reference to 3rd party acknowledgement from say Secunia?



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 07:45 AM by r3dman


Taskforce Argus aren't stupid enough put there names on the interwebs surely? All the Hackers, Cyber Crims and Kiddy Rings would love it and go about some investigations for themselves.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 07:58 AM by jdmjam


I find its usually email versons of the OP above that have the virus attached...

one word...

DELETE!



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-11-2009 @ 02:22 PM by radarloveguy


reply to post by quackers



...am very new to the whole computer game ,

and received that e-mail from a normally reliable friend !!!!!!!

oops... blushes and swears at self.......



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 7-11-2009 @ 12:31 AM by hautmess


people still use email?



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 7-11-2009 @ 12:37 AM by spellbound


Never open any attachments, full stop.

They are not necessarily from the person you think they are from.

The fact that a lot of people spend their time trying to wreck other people's computers make me despair.

Why would you want to wreck things just for the sake of it?



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 7-11-2009 @ 12:38 AM by Aeons


Even if this wasn't a Hoax, I don't care.

That's what back up and operating systems disks are for.

Unless the virus is actually going to melt my computer, I don't give a rat's patootie.



   copyright & usage 

























































ATS Server: www3.theabovenetwork.com
Powered by AboveTop:Board v2.3
Header data processed in 0.002 seconds
Page processed in 0.073 seconds
6 total database queries (1)









The Above Top Secret Conspiracy Community Web site is a wholly owned social content community of The Above Network, LLC.