It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

 

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

 

NASA Separation Event coverage started 9:40 p.m. EDT (6:40 p.m. PDT)... Over now...

page: 1
6
<<   2 >>

log in

join
share:

posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:41 PM
link   

LIVE separation coverage starts 9:40 p.m. EDT (6:40 p.m. PDT)


www.nasa.gov

Timeline for LCROSS - Centaur Separation Coverage:

9:40 p.m. EDT: Start of video streaming coverage (6:40 p.m. PDT)

VIDEO 2 will show the live animation of the events leading up to separation. The LIVE feed from the LCROSS spacecraft on VIDEO 1 is not active at this point.

9:50 p.m. EDT: LCROSS - Centaur Separation (6:50 p.m. PDT)

(visit the link for the full news article)



[edit on 8-10-2009 by StoneGarden]

[edit on 8-10-2009 by StoneGarden]




posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:41 PM
link   
VIDEO 2 will show an animated view of the separation. VIDEO 1 is not active at this point.

9:55 p.m. EDT: START LIVE VIDEO FEED from LCROSS spacecraft (6:55 p.m. PDT)

VIDEO 1 will start showing LIVE images coming down from the LCROSS spacecraft looking at the Centaur upper stage fading into the distance.
The LIVE spacecraft feed is coming down at 1 frame per second at a resolution of 640x480. The images will be relatively low resolution.
VIDEO 2 will continue to show the animation.

10:10 p.m. EDT: END LIVE VIDEO FEED from LCROSS spacecraft (7:10 p.m. PDT)

The LIVE stream from the LCROSS spacecraft ends at this point. VIDEO 2 continues to show the animation.

10:20 p.m. EDT: End of video streaming coverage (7:20 p.m. PDT)

Both video streams are ended at this point.

www.nasa.gov
(visit the link for the full news article)



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:43 PM
link   
Anyone know what GMT it will be at?? I can't seem to find it online anywhere and it's like 2am here. I'm pooped...... Star if anyone can help me.



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:45 PM
link   
No its on right now... I posted the link in the op...

it is showing a display of a comp' screend with a time saying approx 8mins (as of this post). But the transmission said "hazardous"... switching to support channel... I wonder what is happening?


Let's enjoy and watch in awe
I love space stuff, makes me feel young again...



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:49 PM
link   
I know I will get flamed for not researching this myself but....

I was just thinking to set my alarm for the LCROSS impact.

I know it's around 6:20 est.

Will I be able to see the impact on this channel?

Thank you for posting this!

Watching now!





[edit on 8-10-2009 by lucentenigma]



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:51 PM
link   

Originally posted by StoneGarden
No its on right now... I posted the link in the op...

it is showing a display of a comp' screend with a time saying approx 8mins (as of this post). But the transmission said "hazardous"... switching to support channel... I wonder what is happening?


Let's enjoy and watch in awe
I love space stuff, makes me feel young again...


HECK YES OP!

Watching now!!.......... Come on NASA hit an alien city!!!



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:51 PM
link   
Yeah this may be a bit boring... this is getting it ready to separate to send to the moon...

Edit to add: Real-time, telemetry-based animation of separation on the right side... nothing much more than audio i guess...


[edit on 8-10-2009 by StoneGarden]



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 08:53 PM
link   
Not boring at all


Second Line...



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:06 PM
link   
reply to post by StoneGarden
 


Now what is the chance that the impact would knock out a huge chuck of Lunar rock and send it huralling to earth?



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:07 PM
link   
Well that seemed to go well I guess.

I am looking forward to the live feed tomorrow morning!

"To the Moon Alice! To the Moon!"



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:08 PM
link   
reply to post by titorite
 


Not too likely I rekon...




posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:11 PM
link   
I will be sleeping.
This sucks. Can anyone get Nasa to hold it over for say afternoonish??

( Central Time)

[edit on 8-10-2009 by Zenagain]



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:13 PM
link   
315am? is that when its estimated to impact?



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:13 PM
link   
how many hours from now is this impacting? I thouht it was like 10 hours away



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:14 PM
link   
notpad reads...

"Good Separation. See you at 3:15AM"

I guess that's a wrap?



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:14 PM
link   
If anyone else is interested in watching the impact here is the info:


LCROSS Lunar Impact 7:31 a.m. EDT/4:31 a.m. PDT Friday Oct. 9 A live NASA TV Broadcast is planned for the LCROSS impacts starting at 6:15 a.m. EDT (3:15 a.m. PDT), Oct. 9, on NASA TV and www.nasa.gov/ntv.


Nasa TV



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:15 PM
link   
reply to post by dallas18
 


LCROSS says just over 9 hrs... I can't wait...



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:17 PM
link   
reply to post by lucentenigma
 


It also says "The Centaur will impact the floor of Cabeus crater at 4:31:19 a.m. PDT. Following about 4 minutes behind and collecting and transmitting data back to LCROSS mission control, the Shepherding spacecraft will impact the surface at approximately 4:35:45 a.m. PDT."...

So who's gonna be up for a smoke and a pancake??



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:21 PM
link   
reply to post by StoneGarden
 


I'll take a pipe and a crepe...


2nd line...



posted on Oct, 8 2009 @ 09:22 PM
link   
Hold on to your tin foil hats! It's going to be a bumpy ride.



new topics

top topics



 
6
<<   2 >>

log in

join