It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Moon Landing Flag and the temp/humidity effects of space?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 11 2009 @ 06:21 PM
link   
Space is said to be freezing cold, and special materials are needed in space, heat resistant from radiation and insulated from the cold. But, we used a cloth flag on the moon.

Something about this bothers me as shouldn't the flag have moisture if it was in the lander for many days? Why wouldn't it freeze? Yet, the flag maintained it's flexibility when being erected.

The other question has to do with the temperature and effects of that on cloth material.

I am not an expert, or even know anything about this but have this simple question to pose to members that may be able to speculate further on this matter.

posted on Sep, 11 2009 @ 06:40 PM
link   
This is why: Water requires pressure to stay in liquid form. here on earth (and in the pressurized lander) the water is under pressure. Thats why water boils at lower and lower temperatures as you go up in altitude. and in space where there is no pressure water instantly vaporizes, literally boils, it doesnt freeze because it is a gas.

P.S. As close to the sun as we (and the moon) are space has a large range of temperatures. anywhere from 250F to - 250F i could be wrong on the exact numbers as i am to lazy to look it up LOL. but it gets the point across.

[edit on 11-9-2009 by Aggamemnon]

posted on Sep, 11 2009 @ 07:58 PM
link