It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Connections among solar cycle, stratosphere and ocean discovered

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Aug, 28 2009 @ 01:56 PM
link   
Now I am far from an expert in this field... However, was browsing the web today and stumbled upon this. Very interesting find, nonetheless...

Connections among solar cycle, stratosphere and ocean discovered

Subtle connections between the 11-year-solar cycle, the stratosphere and the tropical Pacific Ocean work in sync to generate periodic weather patterns that affect much of the globe, according to research results appearing this week in the journal Science.

The findings will help scientists get an edge on predicting the intensity of certain climate phenomena, such as the Indian monsoon and tropical Pacific rainfall, years in advance.

"It's been long known that weather patterns are well-correlated to very small variations in total solar energy reaching our planet during 11-year solar cycles," says Jay Fein, program director in the National Science Foundation (NSF)'s Division of Atmospheric Sciences, which funded the research. "What's been an equally long mystery, however, is how they are physically connected. This remarkable study is beginning to unravel that mystery."

Newly discovered interactions between the Sun and the Earth affect our climate.

Similar Links
Science Daily: Small Fluctuations In Solar Activity, Large Influence On Climate
Scientific America: Sunspots Stir Oceans
Space.com: Sun's Cycle Alters Earth's Climate

[edit on 28-8-2009 by tmayhew01]

posted on Aug, 28 2009 @ 02:10 PM
link   
Another example of how complex the engines that drive climate are. A slight increase in solar energy (.1%) could trigger a series of changes that may result in lower sea surface temperatures in the eastern Pacific.