It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Apalling argumentative skills

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Jul, 21 2009 @ 12:29 AM
link   
Just thought I'd like to point something out I've noticed on the 9/11 threads. I've sen all of the notifications about how the section is under close staff scrutiny, and have personally read some hate filled attacks on people, but I wanted to talk more in depth about this.

A little background on me is that I am currently an assistant collegiate debate coach, and I have researched and participated in debate and argumentation for around 8 years. Having said that, I would just like to say how sad I am to see how petty and condescending people can be on these threads.

But I'm not here to yell at anyone. Instead I would like to offer up some advice to the people that are perhaps engaged in this behavior. If you really want to try to convince someone of your argument, you should be as respectful as possible to that person. Note, this goes to people on both sides of the isle.

I personally don't believe the official story of 9/11, but I am very open minded and am more than willing to listen to other opinions. After all, I like hopefully most people on ATS, am here in search of the truth, not to push an agenda. At the same time, I would also like to help others learn about my opinions, and the research that I have done. Because of that, I do not have an antagonistic view toward anybody on here.

Having said that, I'm not saying its just people that don't agree with me that are uniquely engaging in this negative argumentative style. To an extent, I think were all guilty to some degree, and should try to be more civil.