It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Science behind Ghosts/Demons/Angels

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jul, 18 2009 @ 09:35 PM
link   
I ran across this interesting article today. I do not agree fully with it, but it would explain a ton of things regarding the paranormal. It seems that melatonin produced in the pineal gland can also be a contributing reason why some people see "Ghosts". Among many other psychological things that can cause visions of "God", demons, angels etc..

neuro.psychiatryonline.org...

I plea the 5th on this subject, as some people choose to believe in the paranormal as some means of Faith or whatever.

posted on Jul, 18 2009 @ 10:00 PM
link   
I have known melatonin to induce very vivid dreams.

But this doesn't explain concrete experiences of these things. I've had plenty of experiences where material objects were affected.

posted on Jul, 18 2009 @ 10:09 PM
link   
reply to post by DaisyAnne

I have also had experiences that say contrary to science. But none of it is repeatable or testable so I have serious doubts some times. The mind is a tricky place.

posted on Jul, 18 2009 @ 10:11 PM
link   
reply to post by Mr. Toodles

HI Mr. Toodles,

Anyone developing their psychic abilities will know that the development of the pineal gland is essential raising their level of abilities. It appears to be linked to the "third eye" which is where the 'visions' come from. Whether this is to do with the level of melatonin is beyond me but it may give a scientific reason why some people can communicate with and see the spirit realm and others can't.

Kind regards,

Dobbie

posted on Jul, 18 2009 @ 10:15 PM
link   

Originally posted by Mr. Toodles
reply to post by DaisyAnne