It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Meditation Primer

page: 1

join
share:

posted on May, 17 2009 @ 06:00 PM
link   
Dear friends,

I am often asked how to meditate. I am far from an expert in meditation, but I can give you some tips and some resources which I have personally found very helpful in meditation.

The following videos I have found to be absolutely superb in giving a comprehensive account of what meditation is, the dynamics of it and what happens during it.

You can watch the rest of the series by following the links at the end of the video. This is hands down one of the best meditation descriptions I have come across.

Now for some humble insights and tips from yours truly on meditation and how I do it. First let me refer to you to this Mandala, because it is going to make things very clear:

This is the most sacred Mandala in the esoteric tradition. It is the Sri Yantra and it literally represents the geometry of the cosmos and it is the geometric equivalent of the sound of the cosmos: AUM.

This is a 2D representation of the Sri Yantra, the actual shape of this is spherical. The physics is complex, so I will not confuse you with it. Basically the universe is a set of interpenetrating triangles - icosahedron within a dodecahedron that originates from a point-source(Sanskrit: Bindu) the size of the triangles increase as it expands from the point source.

One triangle points upwards and one triangle points downwards. The one that points upwards is the spiritual energy(Sanskrit: Purusha) and the one that points downwards is the material energy(Sanskrit: Prakriti). This is what we call subjective and objective. The subjective and objective mirror each other at every level.