Help ATS with a contribution via PayPal:
learn more

Is there evidence that a technological singularity has occured?

page: 1

join

posted on May, 3 2009 @ 07:32 AM
link   
Please post any (reasonable) information you have that would indicate that AI has been produced or augmentations to human intellect have occured. Or any information that AI has been staved off or cordoned off. Just wondering and thanks in advance.

[edit on 3-5-2009 by miragezero]

posted on May, 3 2009 @ 08:37 AM
link   
I'm not aware of any AI that has such properties. I'm no expert but I think it's extremely unlikely that we can create a system out of our control. Even a so called AI works in a certain way, its more or less just a really complex program.

What scares me a bit more is those researchers that have been implanting chips to have an internet connection at all time that they can access through electrodes (e.g. electrodes on the fingermuscles, you could type with that). Not sure if that's what you mean though

posted on May, 3 2009 @ 08:47 AM
link   
Technology singularity is still in the realm of fiction at this time. I am curious what brought on your series of questions, miragezero. Did you read some Gibson novels recently? See something on TV?

posted on May, 3 2009 @ 08:47 AM
link   
reply to post by scraze

AI only gets out of control when it can become self aware or create a better or another version of its self,then my friend i garantee ull never have to wach any of the terminator films again

posted on May, 3 2009 @ 09:49 AM
link   
reply to post by miragezero

Read Taylor Brice's "Thanks For The Memories".

Possibly mind controlling (which the techniques have improved since Brice Taylor's story in the 70's & 80's).

There are more "dead cells" out there than people realize. When you read, "Woman drowns babies" or "Mass shooting at shopping mall" in the newspaper, start researching the perpatrator's background.