It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

WAR: US Soldier Confirmed Taken Hostage in Iraq

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 16 2004 @ 03:05 PM
link   
Private 1st Class Keith Maupin, age 20, is one of two missing soldiers after last week's attack on a fuel convoy near Baghdad. Al Jazeera has aired a video showing an American soldier surrounded by heavily armed individuals. The soldier identified himself as Keith Matthew Maupin of Batavia, Ohio.

WashingtonTimes.com

"My name is Keith Matthew Maupin. I am a soldier from the 1st Division. I am married with a 10-month-old child. I came to liberate Iraq, but I did not come willingly because I wanted to stay with my child."

Pvt. Maupin is shown alive on the tape and seemingly uninjured. His captors all have their faces covered with keffiyeh and hold automatic weapons near his head. His captors do not directly threaten him on the tape and offer to trade Maupin for an "Iraqi POW."
"We are keeping him to be exchanged with some of the prisoners captured by the occupation forces," one of the captors said. "Some of our groups managed to capture one of the American soldiers and he is one of many others."
The speaker indicates Maupin is being treated "...according to the treatment of prisoners in the Islamic religion and he is in good health."

Al Jazeera obtained the video tape on Thursday from an unidentified guerrilla group and turned a copy of it over to the American Embassy in Qatar just hours ago.

Maupin's family has been notified. He has a wife and a 10-month old baby at home. He is part of the Army Reserve's 724th Transportation Company based in Illinois.

Friends, family and Batavia community members are gathering Friday night at the Clermont County Courthouse to hold a vigil for Pfc. Maupin.