It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

I need to know when to spend the little money I have on supplies and food. DOW at 4000?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Feb, 23 2009 @ 11:14 AM
link   
I am not an economic expert but I have a decent understanding of how to read the markets. What I would like to know is at what point will we know that it has truly hit the fan. Not “times are bad, this sucks” but truly hit. If the DOW falls to 5000? 4000? If this happens for example, could grocery stores increase prices overnight? Gas prices? I don't have much money to spend so I am not very well stocked although I do have basic supplies, but when will I know will be the right time to take the very little money I have and go get gas and food as best I can. If it does happen do you think there will be price fixing by the fed to try and ease the stress on the populus?

posted on Feb, 23 2009 @ 11:19 AM
link   
Do what our grandparents did during the last depression. Start stocking up now. You dont have to go out and buy a crap load of canned goods now and other non perishables, but purchasing a few here and there while shppping will save the trouble of needing them later.

Also a garden with a variety of crops helps also. Plan ahead, because proper planning prevents piss poor performance.

posted on Feb, 23 2009 @ 11:23 AM
link   
reply to post by elston

Just add 10$ weekly on groceries... That should be ok.
I forecast a big drop in the DOW around the end of August 2009, (according to my wife who studies astrology) so, by then, you'll have plenty of food accumulated...

posted on Feb, 23 2009 @ 11:24 AM
link   
if the Dow goes to 4000 we are going to be learning how to eat air.

A previouspost about long term planning is the answer

posted on Feb, 23 2009 @ 11:26 AM
link