It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Panama as an Alternative to Living in the USA

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 21 2009 @ 01:46 PM
link   
Hello All,

I am new here and I hope this is the most appropriate place to post this message. I am a resident of the Republic of Panama and a citizen of the United States. I'm rather conservative in my views compared to a lot of what I have seen on this site, but I do think that some of you might like to explore what it would be like to move out of the United States to somewhere relatively safe (as can be in the world we are living in). I have a commercial interest in suggesting that Panama might be a good alternative, which I admit up front. I sell real estate. That being said, I might not have exactly the real estate you would be looking for, so don't let my profession keep you from discovering what Panama has to offer.

Panama is among the most private places to do banking in the world.
There is a very short distance from farm to table when it comes to food.
Panama has mountains, islands and beaches--lots of places to tuck into that are way off the beaten track.
Panama also has secure and defensible 'normal' communities capable of going off grid and being self-sufficient.
Panama has abundant water (it rains a lot here) and no extremely cold areas. The most you'd ever need is a sweater and maybe a fire at night if you are way up in the mountains.
Panama offers incentives to those who invest here and a very generous plan for those who retire on a fixed income, regardless of age as long as the income can be proven from a recognized source.
Expatriates have been making Panama their home for a hundred years and the Panamanians are used the presence of foreigners.