It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The military and government

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 14 2009 @ 07:07 PM
link   
I have been reading a lot on ATS about the possibility of a civil war or revolution based on the economic collapse. Some of these posts have mentioned the government using martial law in the future. I don't believe this is something that could happen; I think the vast majority of servicemen and women would not draw arms against the people.

I am a military officer; I've also served as an enlisted member in two services. I understand the power of my oath... I understand the responsibility of my oath... I understand and take it humbly. It's an enormous obligation.

I recently sent the below message to some 'representatives', as well as some news media outlets. I want them to know that they are being watched; that there are people who actually take their oath seriously...

Here is my message.

As I am sure many of you know, military officers make an oath to support and defend the Constitution. Our official oath of commissioning reads:

“….that I will support and defend the Constitution of the United States against all enemies, foreign and domestic…”

The oath we take is to the Constitution; it is not to the Republican Party, it is not to the Democratic Party, it is not to our superiors, our military units, or even the President.

We are to guard the Constitution.

Every officer has the responsibility of viewing their actions and orders in light of the Constitution. It is a very humbling duty. With it comes an innate responsibility to lead with character and to put your service above your own self interests.

Military officers put aside their own liberties, rights, and personal views, willingly sacrificing them for the greater good, and to the service of the nation.