It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Is every election like the 2008 election?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jan, 31 2009 @ 10:59 PM
link   
I'm only 19 years old. I'm somewhat new to elections. I remember the 2004 elections with John Kerry and George W Bush and reading about John Kerry. I don't remember seeing much campaign ads or people getting this crazy in 2004. I imagine there was a lot of hate on both sides. I just wonder if it's always like this. If so, then what can we do to tell people the truth about these politicians and how they have always been doing this and the only way that they'll stop being manipulated is to hold these politicians accountable for their actions. I'm just curious because I saw a lot of people who I thought were smart, or, I know usually are smart, be ignorant of the Republican side, or of the Democrat side. Most of the Democrats I know voted for Obama because they didn't like Bush and since they're Democratic, but, I think John McCain hurt the GOP a lot, as I saw a lot of hate for the Republicans on the internet. I gained some respect for the GOP because it was during that election cycle that I found out about Ron Paul and I started to read about politics after I read his book. I felt inspired by his movement. But then, all these other people remained ignorant. Is it always like this? One candidate comes along and wakes some of us up and then the rest of the masses remains ignorant? What can we do about this? Can something be done?

posted on Jan, 31 2009 @ 11:03 PM
link   
Election days in the western world are are chance to see the oppinions of people their votes will never have any bearing on the result, its all pre-determined.

posted on Jan, 31 2009 @ 11:15 PM
link   
The MSM controls the masses. The independent journalist ceased to exist a long time ago.