|
reply posted on 9-4-2004 @ 02:12 PM by John bull 1
|
I can see the funny side awful as it is.
The audacity and sheer scale!
Posting Worldwatcher's experiences as his own!
Even suggesting to forum staff that a debate forum could be set up so that he could use the same titles as past ones here and use the winning
arguments.
He took the work of 50 people and passed it off as his own.They must of thought he was a genius!
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 9-4-2004 @ 02:22 PM by TrickmastertricK
|
some posts he put up in under an hour after they were posted here. I recently saw that their was going to be software to detect this sort of thing,
anyone else hear about it?
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 9-4-2004 @ 03:10 PM by titian
|
Originally posted by TrickmastertricK
some posts he put up in under an hour after they were posted here. I recently saw that their was going to be software to detect this sort of thing,
anyone else hear about it?
There is software that scans for similar articles:
New software detects plagiarized passages -
msnbc.msn.com...
Glatt Plagiarism Services - www.plagiarism.com...
Berkeley University - www.cs.berkeley.edu/~aiken/moss.html
A solution has been around since about the time the media first started reporting about the difficulty of tracking plagiaristic students and the ease
of online plagiarism.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 9-4-2004 @ 10:48 PM by SkepticOverlord
|
Originally posted by intelgurl
It seems DreamRebel may have been posting to yet another web site/forum....
Space Flight News . Com
Interesting.
I posted a link back to the original ATS posts in the case of all of DreamRebel's posts on that site... a few hours later, my account was banned, and
my posts were removed.
|
copyright & usage
|
|
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.
|
reply posted on 9-4-2004 @ 11:08 PM by ktprktpr
|
SkepticOverlord - Did you contact the owner of that space board first? That might've set them off.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 9-4-2004 @ 11:09 PM by Netchicken
|
Your on the board here still
www.spaceflightnews.com...
Maybe if you referenced this thread, and the one of the onther board, in your post it would excite some attention. However the board looks very
small...
[Edited on 9-4-2004 by Netchicken]
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 9-4-2004 @ 11:37 PM by ShatteredSkies
|
Hmm here is something he plagirized, which i am not sure who this belongs but,-
"I think these are camel spiders. Solgiers are reporting "theses things are crazy, not only are they really that big, but they can run like 30 mph,
and they scream at you when they are running. And I wouldnt say that they are harmless either, not that they can kill you, but their venom is a
numbing agent, so they can literally be eating you and you wouldnt even feel it...remember, always shake your boots out before you put em on......"-
Claimed to be by D/R.
That is not a camel spider, it is a sun spider, or a scorpion, it is one of the phew tailess scorpions, notice how it has 10 legs, not 8, that is
cause the main big ones are the chlemiro or whosa whasa, i am not really sure, i did a project on it a while back and forgot what it was called, but i
do know the two bigger legs would be considered the large pincers on the scorpion.
Shattered OUT...
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 12:16 AM by TrickmastertricK
|
Originally posted by SkepticOverlord
Interesting.
I posted a link back to the original ATS posts in the case of all of DreamRebel's posts on that site... a few hours later, my account was banned, and
my posts were removed.
They have only 32 members, you'd think they would at least not ban you
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 10:38 AM by intelgurl
|
has anyone heard from DreamRebel?
Obviously there really isn't an excusable reason for this, but I'd love to know what if anything he has to say in his defense...
Also, I note he is banned here, but is he likewise banned from the Unsolved Mysteries website?
(I can't believe they banned Skeptic)
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 10:50 AM by DontTreadOnMe
|
Originally posted by SkepticOverlord
I posted a link back to the original ATS posts in the case of all of DreamRebel's posts on that site... a few hours later, my account was banned, and
my posts were removed.
I see you signed up again. As of this past minute, they have not responded to your second post. I wonder if they ever will?
I see a "Kano" is online there. Is that our own Kano??
|
copyright & usage
|
|
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.
|
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 10:53 AM by smirkley
|
Originally posted by intelgurl
but I'd love to know what if anything he has to say in his defense...
His credability is now,...Shot.
There is nothing that could be said, that could honestly be considered factual.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 10:54 AM by Kano
|
Originally posted by DontTreadOnMeI see a "Kano" is online there. Is that our own Kano??
Affirmative.
[Edited on 10-4-2004 by Kano]
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 03:43 PM by UM-SaRuMaN
|
Plagiarism Reporting
First off i'd like to thank the members of ATS for bringing the activities of DreamRebel to our attention. We have been working to remove as much of
the plagiarised content as possible, however given the sheer number of posts this individual has made to the board, this is by no means an easy
task.
A few of you have tried to help by posting in some of the threads to point out plagiarised content where possible, which has helped to identify some
of the material to be removed.
In order to help speed up the process, and to ensure that as much plagiarised content is removed as possible, I have set up a temporary report thread
to give ATS members the opportunity to post links to any posts or threads on the UM forums that contain material that Dreamrebel has copied from here.
I'd like to invite anyone who's posts have been copied or who know of posts that have been copied to post links to such material so that we can
remove it.
To report plagiarised content, click on this link :
www.unexplained-mysteries.com...
-Edit, Fixed Link
We will do our best to remove or edit out this material as soon as we can.
Thank you.
SaRuMaN
-Webmaster
-unexplained-mysteries.com
[Edited on 11-4-2004 by UM-SaRuMaN]
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 03:44 PM by Zzub
|
UM-SaRuMaN, many thanks for your cooperation on this matter.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 03:48 PM by kinglizard
|
Im impressed. You are a class act UM-SaRuMan.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 03:49 PM by Seekerof
|
UM-SaRuMaN,
As Zzub has mentioned, your efforts are greatly appreciated and noticed.
The ATS community and staff thank you much for the cooperation shown between the two boards and in the efforts of the admin. and moderation staff of
UM. 
Thank you.
seekerof
|
copyright & usage
|
|
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.
|
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 06:52 PM by worldwatcher
|
that link doesn't work
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 10:34 PM by Valhall
|
No it doesn't ww. I went over to post my links but I couldn't find it anywhere.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 10-4-2004 @ 11:15 PM by UM_Mentalcase
|
I assure you, we will have this link fixed as soon as SaRuMaN gets back online. Thank you.
|
copyright & usage
|
 |
reply posted on 11-4-2004 @ 01:27 AM by insite
|
DR's going to fit in well over at darkgov. I think ATS needs a lawyer. Might be time for me to hit up that paypal and make a donation.
*EDIT: No more paypal, if you need me I'll be hitting google ad's.
[Edited on 4-11-2004 by insite]
|
copyright & usage
|
 |