It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Questions on wireless security

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 17 2008 @ 08:10 PM
link   
I'm thinking of getting a wireless system to relace or supplement my current system. I will admit I am a novice in the wireless PC area. I am concerned about security. Should I be?

I live in a fairly densely populated area, and I have heard about "thieves" who piggyback on unsecured networks. While occasional sharing my bandwidth doesn't bother me, I'm concerned about the malicious user.

Let me ask a few basic questions:

If someone were to piggyback on my unsecured network, does that give them "visibility" into my system? I'm thinking of networking my two systems together, if that makes a difference.

If someone were to piggyback on my unsecured network, and then use the connection to hack or commit mischief, would traceback identify *me* as the hacker?

Is a wireless system by it's nature more vulnerable than a hardwired system?

How *do* you secure a wireless network?

Let me state up front that I am not seeking any information to commit any illegal deed. I just want to protect myself and my system.

I would appreciate any info or sources that the board can share. I'm looking forward to be able to surf in bed while watching the ballgame!

Thanks-

posted on Sep, 17 2008 @ 08:35 PM
link   

If a person gains access to your network, they can probe locally for other nodes. This can include printers, vulnerable shares, or anything else they can find and exploit.

If someone gains unauthorized access to your network and then does any of those activities, it will trace back to your network. Local ip addresses used by the router won't be visible from the outside (usually). Whether or not you are held accountable depends on laws in your area.