It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Who is Jahveh? (non-christians please)

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 15 2008 @ 03:48 AM
link   
Hello everyone.
Im new at ATS... My first question to everyone who are into ancient religions combined with outerspace theories... Who is Jahweh? I have heard of many sumerian writings about Jahweh, one of the Annunaki? (i think) :S And ive also heard that Jahweh DIED... it pretty confused me but it now makes scence why the name Jahweh is in Bible... knowing the Bible is total mixdown of all old religions...

posted on Sep, 15 2008 @ 04:24 AM
link   
Hello. I do not know anything about YHWH (letters Yud Hey Vav Hey) in Sumerian texts, but in Judaism it is supposed to be unspoken name of God. The word probably takes its origin from a root Hove - meaning present (Hey Vav Hey). In Hebrew past present and future forms are created by messing with the same root. So Haya - "was/past" (Hey Yud Hey) and yihye (Yud hey yud hey) are from the same root and basically YHWH can mean that God was in past , is now and will be in the future. In Moses case, when he asks God what is his name, the answer is - i will be what i will be (i am what i am is not exact in my opinion) ,using the same root.
By the way, just curious. Why it is only for non-Christians? I guess they can add to discussion. Your thread though, of course.
p.s.
Dug a little on the net for Sumerian connection. There is a suggestion that Ea (Enki?) is Ya and Ya is the same as YHWH. I see a certain problem, since in Torah it does not appear where patriarchs are described,only from Moses incident. And Avraham was from the area. If it was God of Avraham - it should be mentioned then,me thinks.
I wonder how God is named in books of Enoch?

posted on Sep, 15 2008 @ 06:29 AM
link