It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Programming Lessons: Getting Started

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 3 2008 @ 04:01 PM
link   
Getting Started -- Before the Basics
Okay, even before the "before the basics" here, I want to throw out a disclaimer. I program for a living, I've studied it for a while, and I did a bit of college work with it. I like to think I know what I'm talking about, but sadly enough I'm only human. I make mistakes, typos, grammatical errors, so on and so forth. I might even tell you something that's blatantly wrong -- or not so blatantly. I still make mistakes pretty regularly, but I think the day I'm perfect is the day I'm probably not writing code for a living

Think of this as a really big "caveat emptor" sign before progressing; I'll do my best to take care of you here, but you're proceeding at you're own risk. I take no responsibility for damage to computers, monitors, walls, the cost of removing shards of LCD screen from your knuckles when it just ain't going right, etc.

Capiche? Great, let's continue.

To start with, you'll need a "build environment." We're going to stay with the cheap and easy route here, and get Microsoft's Visual C# Express Edition. It's free, and fairly simple to use. If you have an older computer, it might be a stretch to use, but hopefully you can work it out. You can get the 2008 Express Edition at www.microsoft.com... For what it's worth, I'll be using Visual Studio Standard 2005; as far as I'm aware, everything I'll be doing in that for these lessons, you'll be able to do with 2008. If you dig around on the MSDN site a bit, you might be able to find the 2005 Express Edition -- should be a little easier on older computers. Let me know if you have any problems with that.