It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Group Identity & Social Organisms

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Aug, 19 2008 @ 08:33 AM
link   
"I am a ________ " (fill in the blank).

Anything put into the blank defines what social organism or group you identify yourself with. Examples:

"I am a conspiracy-theorist"

"I am a hip-hop fan"

"I am an atheist"

"I am a christian"

"I am a lesbian"

"I am a conservative"

"I am a liberal"

"I am an artist"

"I am an expert in ____"

"I am a buddhist"

"I am a biker"

+ Billions more.

Depending as what someone defines himself, we can predict with 70% accuracy the persons:

* Clothing

* Speech-Patterns

* Vocabulary & Slogans

* Mannerisms

* Enemies

* Goals

* Beliefs & Values

* and in some cases even the level of income, life expectancy, and effective ways to approach and communicate with the person.

Questions for Research:

1. What are the benefits of belonging to a social organism? Why do we strive to be part of something and impose artificial definitions on our otherwise unlimited being?

2. What are the disadvantages of taking in a fixed identity too strongly? (Apart from the predictability I pointed out)?

3. Who are we beyond the artificial labels and stereotypes?

4. In which way could it be fun to change ones group-identification once in awhile?

And most importantly:

5. Which subcultures, social organisms, groups, cults seem to be artificially engineered for the purpose of controlling humans?

posted on Aug, 19 2008 @ 08:37 AM
link   
Is this an open note, open book test? Can we work in groups?

Good post though, I look forward to reading the responses.

posted on Aug, 19 2008 @ 08:45 AM
link   
I am a iconoclast?

What does that tell you?

edit: I've already changed my mind!!

[edit on 19-8-2008 by whaaa]