It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The Space Shuttle Challenger blew up WHEN???

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Jul, 15 2008 @ 04:39 PM
link   
I was reading about the ISS on wikipedia earlier and eventually ended up on the page which covers the space shuttle challenger disaster. The wiki page states that this happened in 1986.

I'll never forget watching news footage of the explosion on a TV that one of the teachers had rolled out into the hallway outside of his classroom. The thing is, I graduated from high school in 1983 so this could not be possible.

I certainly don't rule out the possibility of false memory syndrome, but the damn memories are just so real to me that it's hard to imagine that they could be false. I've been going over and over it in my head for the last few hours trying to come up with a reasonable explanation but in the end all I've managed is a headache.

I dunno, maybe I dreamed this after the fact and it somehow got filed away as an actual memory. All I know for sure is that if the Challenger blew up in 1986 then there is no way in hell that I was still in high school at the time. It's just so disorienting when your mind remembers one thing but the facts contradict it.

Anyhow, I'm sitting here, wondering if my head needs to be examined.
At the risk of sounding like I'm off my rocker, has anyone else noticed any discrepancies in their recollection of the Challenger disaster?

posted on Jul, 15 2008 @ 04:42 PM
link   
Maybe just memory plays games and

Sally Ride became the first American woman to fly in space.

got mixed up with first female teacher and following disaster?
www.nasa.gov...

posted on Jul, 15 2008 @ 04:45 PM
link   
Wow, lots of people are "losing time" around here.

You are another one of our "dimensional travellers."