AboveTopSecret.com Video and Media Portal.Books, posters, and more.T-shirts, mouse pads, cups, and bags.Member podcasts.Conspiracy theory wiki.Alternative news headlinesBelowTopSecret.com - off topic and general chit chat.AboveTopSecret.com - conspiracy theories and


 

 

This topic is in the Board Business & Questions discussion forum.  (rss)


I'm seeing a new kind of ad.


<<  1    2    3  >>



reply posted on 19-7-2008 @ 05:00 PM by DJMessiah


reply to post by SkepticOverlord



I think I found the source of the problem. I believe that one of the ads we saw either on this site or another had implemented malware to our computer. Today, while viewing my email through yahoo, I was redirected to another page, with the same layout as the ones I experienced by being redirected to this site (with the "please click here to go back" timer on top of the page).

My solution to anyone still having this problem is to run spybot S&D or lavasoft ad-aware to delete them from your computer. My computer received the spyware file, while using firefox.

[edit on 19-7-2008 by DJMessiah]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 04:06 AM by baked


Originally posted by DJMessiah
reply to post by SkepticOverlord


I experienced by being redirected to this site (with the "please click here to go back" timer on top of the page).
]



Traced to "Peer 1 Network Inc." whatever that is



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 10:32 AM by Ian McLean


Here's another source for those BlueApple redirectors:



http://72.51.37.167/n31892405l/h.html


http://afe.specificclick.net/?l=1088453805&sz=728x90&wr=j&t=j&u=http%3A//adserver. 
abovetopsecret.com/728_b.php&r=http%3A//www.abovetopsecret.com/forum/myats.php


Date: Sun, 20 Jul 2008 15:17:31 GMT 
http://adserver.abovetopsecret.com/adlog.php?bannerid=4&clientid=8&zoneid=32&source=&
block=0&capping=10&cb=7ed1ec561a1b3dc2b83dc7373add0aa3



[edit on 20-7-2008 by Ian McLean]



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 12:02 PM by baked


I just got my first one. grabbed a quick screen cap...

img247.imageshack.us...

[edit on 20-7-2008 by baked]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 12:11 PM by SkepticOverlord


Originally posted by baked
img247.imageshack.us...


That one appears to be launching from a different URL than ATS, judging by the URL in the bottom status bar.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 12:18 PM by groingrinder


reply to post by silverking



I do not use IE. It is waaay too easy to hijack. Within minutes of using it, I am whisked off on a whirlwind tour of porn sites. Same thing with windows messenger. Nonstop solicitation from prostitutes.


[edit on 7-20-2008 by groingrinder]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 12:21 PM by Sleuth


I clicked on this thread and ended up here. I use the latest version of Firefox.

The problem is ongoing.

[edit on 7/20/08 by Sleuth]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 12:58 PM by baked


Originally posted by SkepticOverlord
Originally posted by baked
img247.imageshack.us...


That one appears to be launching from a different URL than ATS, judging by the URL in the bottom status bar.



nah, I had my cursor over the high times link at the top of my browser when I capped it.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 01:12 PM by SkepticOverlord


Originally posted by Sleuth
The problem is ongoing.


The problem looks to be a rouge advertiser running a 728x90... I've alerted the ad provider (we're not supposed to get these types of ads from them), and have disabled all 728x90 ads from them until the issue is corrected.



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 20-7-2008 @ 01:40 PM by Sleuth


Originally posted by SkepticOverlord
The problem looks to be a rouge advertiser running a 728x90... I've alerted the ad provider (we're not supposed to get these types of ads from them), and have disabled all 728x90 ads from them until the issue is corrected.

SO, thanks for the help. Those dang rogue advertisers!



   copyright & usage 


<<  1    2    3  >>






















































ATS Server: www3.theabovenetwork.com
Powered by AboveTop:Board v2.3
Header data processed in 0.002 seconds
Page processed in 0.082 seconds
6 total database queries (1)









The Above Top Secret Conspiracy Community Web site is a wholly owned social content community of The Above Network, LLC.