AboveTopSecret.com Video and Media Portal.Books, posters, and more.T-shirts, mouse pads, cups, and bags.Member podcasts.Conspiracy theory wiki.Alternative news headlinesBelowTopSecret.com - off topic and general chit chat.AboveTopSecret.com - conspiracy theories and


 

 

This topic is in the Board Business & Questions discussion forum.  (rss)


I'm seeing a new kind of ad.


<<  1    2    3  >>



reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:33 AM by mrsdudara


I posted a thread about this last week, but it got trashed almost immediatly. Probably because I was pissy about it. I assumed that this was making money for ATS too. Sorry for that. I should have known better. Had I been a bit less pissy, perhaps this problem could have been taken care of earlier.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:34 AM by SkepticOverlord


I've discovered the source, CPX Interactive.

While reviewing recently added advertising campaigns via their management tools, my entire browser window was expanded and taken over by a page from SpiralFrog.com.

Until they can guarantee us this will never happen again, all ads from CPX Interactive have been disabled.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:36 AM by Techsnow


Cheers, its good to hear it was a bug. I was beginning to get worried.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:36 AM by mrsdudara


reply to post by SkepticOverlord



you rock

thanks



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:40 AM by KilgoreTrout


Would this come up as a 'attempted browser hijack' when you run a security scan? I had a few of those through ATS a week or so ago...tried not to think too much of it, would this ad thing explain that????



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:43 AM by SkepticOverlord


Originally posted by KilgoreTrout
would this ad thing explain that


Yes.

I've initiated contact with our account rep at CPX Interactive and I expect a response soon.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:52 AM by KilgoreTrout


reply to post by SkepticOverlord



Phew...thanks for clearing that up for me...I hope you spank their butts, I was mildly freaked for a while there.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 09:00 AM by liamoohay


I didn't get redirected but I was just reading a thread about the salmonella in jalapenos thing.
The threads train of comments go on to border issues and such.
THEN I noticed at the bottom an AD for the US border patrol hiring. WTH is that? Coincidence?



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 02:48 PM by Ferengi


I was using internet explorer browsing ATS, got 5 popups and a virus, lost everything. Luckily it was an old computer I tested this on.

[edit on 14-7-2008 by Ferengi]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:29 PM by SkepticOverlord


Originally posted by Ferengi
got 5 popups and a virus

When did this happen?



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 14-7-2008 @ 08:38 PM by Techsnow


*Sniffs the air* Doesn't smells good.. I smell something.. not sure what it is exactly....



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 15-7-2008 @ 12:33 AM by XL5


SO, I'm sorry for the previous assumptions. However I do think theres something funny going on, my password was reset on me some time after my first post in this thread. I didn't change or delete any cookies, history or cookies for about 3 days prior. I have set windows to auto fill the password the PW box. I needed to get a new password via email.

forums.cdcovers.cc... some stuff about cpx.

www.getads.co.uk... about 2/3's down the page it mentions CPX and pop up ADs, it also discusses other types of ADs.

I've found looking on the web for the potential problems of new patches, software and comsumer electronics very helpful.

[edit on 15-7-2008 by XL5]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 15-7-2008 @ 02:16 AM by LateApexer313


Nevermind I see you have already found the source and rectified the situation Thanks SO for not subscribing to whatever it was or letting ATS be overrun with such annoying advertising tricks.


[edit on 15-7-2008 by LateApexer313]

[edit on 15-7-2008 by LateApexer313]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 15-7-2008 @ 11:28 AM by Ferengi


It happened about 30 minutes before I made my last post.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 19-7-2008 @ 01:17 PM by DJMessiah


reply to post by SkepticOverlord



I'm not so sure it's only the CPX ads. Today, (just a minute ago), I just got another ad redirect. Here's the URL it took me to:

76.74.154.24...


The bottom of that page says the ad agency belongs to "Copyright © 2008 BlueAppleResearch.com, a Top Notch Media, Inc. website. All rights reserved."



[edit on 19-7-2008 by DJMessiah]



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 19-7-2008 @ 02:58 PM by chise61


I just got redirected to another page. I was trying to pull up a thread from my ATS and as soon as the thread opened up i was redirected to another page, Blue apple or something. Sorry i didn't think to get the url.


I've never had this happen before, the worst i ever get are those annoying circuit city banners that open up. Those just open up and take up about half the page though and have an x to let you close them, just midly annoying.


I definitely don't like what just happened though, i don't want some advertiser being able to redirect me away from where i'm at, i hope this problem gets fixed.



   copyright & usage 
AboveTopSecret.com is advertising supported.


reply posted on 19-7-2008 @ 03:49 PM by dizziedame


I was redirected to a snickers add about an hour ago.

The bug is still here.

Call Orkin.



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 19-7-2008 @ 03:58 PM by SkepticOverlord


Originally posted by dizziedame
I was redirected to a snickers add about an hour ago.


There are no campaigns for Snickers (or any other candy maker) being offered by any of our providers.

If anyone can uncover more information, that would he helpful.

(Still digging though)



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 19-7-2008 @ 04:13 PM by Ian McLean


reply to post by SkepticOverlord


I got a redirect earlier... unfortunately, it was when I was opening multiple pages simultaneously, so I couldn't easily extract a definitive adlog trace. It may have been:

http://adserver.abovetopsecret.com/adlog.php?bannerid=4&clientid=8&zoneid=32&source=&block=0& 
capping=10&cb=c4060d99e70089b452b5963cf7dc41dd


PS: it seems the system clock on adserver is running about 8 and a half minutes fast...



   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 19-7-2008 @ 04:46 PM by LateApexer313


reply to post by SkepticOverlord



Hiyah SO,

Just sent you a U2U, just got another one when I clicked on "memcenter" to go to private messages, I sent you the address of the ad.

Just in case you have tons of U2U's as I am sure you do and you check the site first, the address was:

76.74.254.200...

[edit on 19-7-2008 by LateApexer313]



   copyright & usage 


<<  1    2    3  >>





























































ATS Server: www2.theabovenetwork.com
Powered by AboveTop:Board v2.3
Header data processed in 0.006 seconds
Page processed in 0.078 seconds
6 total database queries (1)









The Above Top Secret Conspiracy Community Web site is a wholly owned social content community of The Above Network, LLC.