Viral attack thru ATS?, page 1
Pages:
ATS Members have flagged this thread 1 times
Topic started on 12-6-2008 @ 02:11 PM by TheRedneck
I just had something real weird happen. I am running WinXP (standard install) on a Toshiba laptop. The only things actively running at the time were the Firefox window I use for ATS, another Firefox window I use for other sites (minimized) and a window of IE for the local weather radar (Firefox doesn't seem to like weather.com for some reason).

I posted in a new thread, so to reopen the Most Recent page, I rightclicked Recent Posts and selected 'Open in New Tab'. The new tab opened and the window immediately minimized on its own. In its place was a small alert box informing me that I might be infected with 'the virus' if my computer was doing such-and-such. I clicked on cancel and the window re-maximized, Instead of the Most Recent page, it had a page informing me that my download would start soon! before I could close that, Firefox's download manager popped up and started giving me the status of the download. I canceled that and closed the offending tab. Then I had another alert box telling me my computer might be infected... I closed that with the X and was able to continue operating.

I think my AV was about to alert me right before I closed the download manager, but I was clicking so fast it apparently didn't have time. I saw something from the tray start to pop up then cancel.

This all happened in the blink of an eye. I don't think I clicked on anything like an advertisement, but I might have drug my pointer across one by accident. Sorry, but I did not get the name of the offending software; I was too busy trying to kill it to notice.

Now I know ATS does not allow things like this on their site, and this is not an indictment of ATS. But if there is an advertisement or other malicious code sneaking into a page, the PTB here need to know about it. Also, everyone else might want to keep an eye open just in case.

The possibility always exists that it was something running in the background or some sort of coincidental attack, but the offending page opened in the tab where an ATS page should have been, so I think it bears looking into.

TheRedneck


reply posted on 12-6-2008 @ 02:49 PM by Andrew E. Wiggin
reply to post by dragonfire2159



my firewalls and virus scanners have never reported anything by visiting this website

there are creeper viruses that pop up only after X amount of time
they also pop up after learning your browsing history, in order to keep the majority of people ill-informed on their origins

I also know that some of the less-quality virus software out there, recognizes cookies as potential harmful files on your computer


reply posted on 12-6-2008 @ 02:55 PM by Tiloke
You are all infected with a nasty program commonly called SMITFRAUD. It is a nasty file that gives you false positives and false virus alerts in an attempt to get you to download their software. The "anti-virus" they start to download is nothing of the sort. It is jam-packed with key-loggers, spyware, etc, etc. It really has nothing to do with what site you happen to be on at the moment as it is set to randomly pop up those alerts all the time. You did NOT get it from this site. It commonly waits up to a week before displaying any messages so it is harder to find where you got it.The most common way of being infected is to download an infected video codec.


It is a real pain in the butt to remove the sucker from your system. Spyware S&D will detect it but can't remove it. Same goes for ad-aware and just about every other anti-spyware program out there. BY far, the easiest is to download THIS TOOLorSPYHUNTERS SMITFRAUD REMOVAL TOOL and follow the directions on THIS site exactly.





[edit on 12-6-2008 by Tiloke]
Pages:     ^^TOP^^