It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Conspiracy by Federal Loan Providers to deny your education.

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jun, 12 2008 @ 08:09 AM
link   
Alright so check this out, yet another unfortunate reality exposed via living my life and experiencing society. I've been a College Student on and off attending for 5 years, then stopped attending for 2 years. During the 4th year, I had to drop below part-time status, that is, I was only taking 2 classes a Semester, instead of 3 to be considered part-time status.

Well, low and behold, in the Federal Student Stafford Loan fine print it says that if you drop below part-time status, your 6 month post-graduation leniency period where you do not have to start making payments begins to count down. They didn't even inform me of it when it began, I only knew I had lost my 6 month leniency period after it was already gone.

So then, here I was broke, depending on these loans for tuition, and now my 6 month period is gone and I cannot get another loan until I am at least part-time again for one whole Semester. That means i'd have to pull a Semester of Tuition and Books out of my rabbit's hat, which is like .. ooh... $1000 for 3 normal classes. Obviously dependent on the system to begin with, I didn't have that kinda money. I'm 2yrs behind on paying now technically because of that stupid sneaky policy as well.