It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The Council Conspiracy

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Apr, 7 2008 @ 03:45 AM
link   
(Introductory Note: I'd like to preface this by saying I'm not mormon or pagan, I'm just a christian researcher of the ancient past. )

Many people don't realize that nearly every ancient text has a council of gods who are all the same group of beings, renamed, over and over again, to fit the language and cultural times.

For example, in the writings and research of ancient language expert, Michael S. Heiser, he discusses "The Divine Council" (.pdf file)
www.thedivinecouncil.com...
as it is described or mentioned in the biblical texts.
He also discusses related topics here:

The Greek www.theoi.com... and Roman www.roman-empire.net... Pantheons, for example, are the same groups of beings as described in the bible.
How do I know this?
Let's look at Revelation 9
specifically, Revelation 9:11
www.htmlbible.com...

9:11 And they had a king over them, [which is] the angel of the bottomless pit, whose name in the Hebrew tongue [is] Abaddon, but in the Greek tongue hath [his] name Apollyon.

Apollo (in Greek, Ἀπόλλων — Apóllōn or Ἀπέλλων — Apellōn)

The Greeks later associated Apollo's name with the Greek verb απολλυμι (apollymi) meaning "to destroy".
en.wikipedia.org...

The Late Bronze Age (from 1700–1200 BCE) Hittite and Hurrian Aplu,[7] like the Homeric Apollo, was a god of plagues,

Apollyon the Destroyer is none other than Apollo.