Social Engineering the 2012 cult

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join

posted on Mar, 18 2008 @ 07:43 AM
link   

Encyclopedia: Social engineering is a concept in political science that refers to efforts to influence popular attitudes and social behavior on a large scale, whether by governments or private groups. In the political arena the counterpart of social engineering is political engineering.

Ive been working in the "new age business" since more than 10 years. And while I have come to be a "believer" in many of the most outrageous fringe topics out there, I have not bought into the idea of the year 2012 being significant in the sense of "the dawn of a new age" or in the sense of "armageddon and the end of the world". Why? Because the whole movement, literature and idea has all the trademarks of a socially engineered cult, and its proponents have all the trademarks of cultists. And because this supposed "new age teaching" actually contradicts and undermines actual new-age-teaching (new-age-teaching being a modern mix of spiritual/self-help/pop-psychology/human potential movement/esoteric studies, hermeticism). This post will probably not make me any friends here, since most of my fellow "new agers" have bought into the idea to some extent, but what the heck.

I´ll start out with a list of reasons to doubt the 2012 movement:

* The 2012 movement was weak before the year 2000. It only gained momentum after nothing spectacular happened in the year 2000. In fact, millions of kooks were running around and warning about the year 2000 or promising that new age in the year 2000. Wanna make a guess how many definite books about "year 2000 prophecies" are now in the trash recycler?

* The future is not fixed. The mere making of a prophecy about the future, can change the future. Even a mere superficial look at physics will reveal that time is not set in stone but a malleable, flexible thing.