It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Anime "Bleach" makes Discrete Astral Projection References

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 27 2007 @ 01:06 AM
link   
Welcome everyone.

For the past few years I've enjoyed watching Anime shows.
I'm an artist, and first watched them just to study the way the Japanese style their cartoons.
After watching a few different shows, I started appreciating the story lines and how they can explore subjects that can't be discussed in real life television.

With that aside, I've recently been watching the popular anime television series "Bleach".

In summary: Bleach follows the adventures of Ichigo Kurosaki, a high school student with the ability to see ghosts, and Rukia Kuchiki, a shinigami (Soul Reaper or, literally, "death god"). The early parts of the story focus mainly on the characters.

In the show, spirits have what is called the "chain of fate."
This is the subject of this thread.

A plus is the spirit of a person who has died.[3] A chain, known as the Chain of Fate (因果の鎖, inga no kusari?), protrudes from the chest and binds the plus to a location, object or person that they felt close to in life.[4] The soul can move about freely if the chain is broken, but this also causes the chain to corrode.[4] Normally, pluses are sent to Soul Society by shinigami in a ritual called soul burial (魂葬, konsō?) before this corrosion becomes significant. If the Chain of Fate is corroded entirely before a soul burial can be performed, a hole will form in the chest of the soul where the chain was once anchored. Such souls are driven mad and become evil spirits known as hollows.[4] If the Chain of Fate is torn out deliberately, this also leads to spiritual degradation.

Source