It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Posse Comitatus Act Suspended By Congress

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Dec, 20 2007 @ 01:57 PM
link   
I'm new to ATS, and it may have been covered in earlier threads, but I recently found this information while researching another topic.

The Posse Comitatus Act, passed on June 16, 1878 prohibits most members of the federal uniformed services from exercising state law enforcement powers that maintain "law and order" on non-federal property.

H.R. 5122, the John Warner Defense Authorization Act for Fiscal Year 2007, signed by the president on October 17, 2006, gives the president the power to employ the armed forces to restore public order in any state of the United States.

It is still another power given to the president in the name of the war on terrorism. In a worst case scenario, it would allow the president to use the military to suppress any kind of unrest.

[edit on 20-12-2007 by Sestias]

posted on Dec, 20 2007 @ 02:37 PM
link   
I wasn't successful in making a link. I will try copying and pasting:

Posse Comitatus Act

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Jump to: navigation, search

The Posse Comitatus Act is a United States federal law (18 U.S.C. § 1385) passed on June 16, 1878 after the end of Reconstruction. The Act prohibits most members of the federal uniformed services (Army, Navy, Air Force, Marines, and State National Guard forces when such are called into federal service) from exercising nominally state law enforcement police or peace officer powers that maintain "law and order" on non-federal property (States, their counties and municipal divisions) in the former Confederate states.