It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Is it possible for Backscatter radar to detect stealth aircraft?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Sep, 17 2007 @ 01:16 AM
link   
I have very little knowledge of radar systems. I have read about the various things that this type of radar can detect and was wondering if it is possible to detect stealth aircraft with an over the horizon radar such as the AN/FPS-118.

It is my understanding that radars of this type were capable of detecting conventional aircraft over 1000 miles away. It is also my understanding that these radars are or have been used to detect sea ice, wind direction and even being able to differentiate between certain types of vegitation at great distance.

If a stealth aircraft was designed to reflect the radar in different directions like the f-117 would that not show up as a "hole" in the sky? A space where there is no detectable wind speed and no solid object. It would still be a "hole" of dead air moving forward at 300mph. Is it possible to detect this "hole"?

Is it possible to detect air temperatures with this type of radar? If so, then would it be possible to see the warmer exhaust of a stealth aircraft against the surrounding cooler air without being able to detect the aircraft itself?

posted on Sep, 17 2007 @ 01:37 AM
link   
An OTHR would PROBABLY be able to detect stealth aircraft, however, there are several drawbacks to the system. They have a range of around 1600 nautical miles, but they have trouble detecting objects that are below a certain range. They are also susceptible to atmospheric interference, as they bounce the signal off the ionosphere.

posted on Sep, 19 2007 @ 02:43 PM
link