It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Why is David Beckham? . . .???

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Aug, 31 2007 @ 04:08 AM
link   
OK, I know, I Know . . . there are more important things to talk about, but can someone explain to me why I am being David Beckham'd at by the media.

First, some backround. I am already 59 years old. I know I am "out of it." My demographic isn't worth diddly squat to anyone so they don't aim anything at me. Fine. But I'm kind of hip for my age and I still take an interest in life. I'm an artist and I'm learning to play guitar, and still think the hot chicks are hot. I like the modern pop music.

I like anything current. I'm not one of those old fogey's who thinks pop music started a nose dive at the end of the sixties. I like it all and I still get excited by the new stuff when it's good,as it often is.

What I'm trying to say is, I don't think my problem with David Beckham is me. I'm not someone who resents other people's success or can't stand the rise of a new personality. I just don't get him and Posh.

I am one of those people who doesn't really follow soccer/football except at world cup time. I think Beckham is vastly overrated as a player. He's kind of like an outstanding place kicker in the NFL, but the analogy kind of breaks down because I don't think he wins as many games for his team as a good place kicker would.