It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Confusion about what The Parable of Tares Means

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Jun, 30 2007 @ 03:46 PM
link   
I'm just beginning to study what's written in the Bible and today I was reading Matthew chapt. 13, the Parable of the Tares only to find myself shocked at what is being communicated here by Jesus. But then when I googled up this parable and read over a few 'interpretations' of this passage, I was just AMAZED how distorted and misleading those interpretations were especially in light of Jesus' own interpretation of this story which I would assume is the true and only correct one. So below are some of my thoughts on what this passage is saying based on what Jesus said about it. I will go one sentence at a time and simply paraphrase it to the best of my ability.

Here's MATT. 13 24-30 in plain English:

24-30 Here is another parable Jesus used: "The Kingdom of Heaven is like a farmer sowing good seed in his field; But one night as he slept, his enemy came and sowed thistles among the wheat. When the crop began to grow, the thistles grew too. The farmers men came and told him, 'Sir, the field where you planted that choice seed is full of thistles!' 'An enemy has done it, he explained, 'Shall we pull out the thistles?', they asked. 'No', he replied. 'You'll hurt the wheat if you do'. Let both grow together until the harvest, and I will tell the reapers to sort out the thistles and burn them, and put the wheat into the barn.