It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

SKA

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 12 2007 @ 10:45 AM
link   
any ska listeners out there?

if so what are your top ska band?

to get the ball rolling im into

reelbig fish
the beat
operationivy
the specials
community cervix... just to name afew

posted on Feb, 12 2007 @ 03:18 PM
link   
What about old school ska? The stuff that regge is based off of?

posted on Feb, 15 2007 @ 10:47 AM
link   
Old school Ska is class. I love to hear really old ska tunes out and about, although must confess I'm no expert in the genre. I keep meaning to go and get a compilation or box set from the Trojan label, who put out much of the Ska music of the 60's.

Anyone got any reccommendations of old ska artists/bands to check out?

JbT

posted on Feb, 15 2007 @ 11:51 AM
link   
I really dont listen to much, but Real Big Fish has a couple good tunes.

The one Ska band that I do listen to often is Mustard Plug. Great band. If you've never heard of them, I reccomend the album "Evildoers Beware".

I also saw "The Planet Smashers" at Silver Star Mt. one time and they put on a great show, though I dont have any of their C.D.s

[edit on 15-2-2007 by JbT]

posted on Feb, 16 2007 @ 05:08 AM
link   
Trojan was more reggae than ska really, but thats no bad thing at all, theres some damn good music to be found on that label. Theres plenty of Trojan compilations out there, Amazon is as good a place as any to start looking. Two old school ska names to look out for are The Pyramids and Prince Buster, who is easily the king of ska music. I have the FABulous greatest hits album (shown on the link site) on vinyl back home. A definite must buy.