It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

What about a "Protection from ID theft / Privacy" forum?

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Feb, 10 2007 @ 03:50 PM
link   
I've been reading up on Identity Theft, a subject I studied in depth about 5 years ago. I have in the past week come up against some personal ID theft issues, and have been shocked by how much more complex the topic has become.

Is ATS an appropriate venue for posting about this?

Not only for helping readers avoid being victimized, but perhaps as a companion to RATS, since people who ask too many questions might end up with their credit attacked, their homes ransacked, etc.

Just wondering.

Examples:

How to end unsolicited Credit Card offers through public mail, that contain detailed personal info, and allow the bearer to set up an account in the addressee's name (I just did this, in my own name, by repeating back information in an offer).

Dealing with govt agencies who demand your Social Security Number

Internet security issues

Bump keys and personal security issues

IS anyone else interested in sharing info to minimize these threats to your lifestyle?

all the best.

posted on Feb, 10 2007 @ 05:35 PM
link   
This topic is going to become really important in May 2008 (?) when we start getting national ID cards with RFID and biometric data which can be stolen at a distance with an RFID scanner.

Also, how to avoid giving out your info invouluntarily, like walking through the entrance at a Wal*Mart or some place with a scanner.

Should we all make faraday cage wallets? Stick our ID cards in the microwave? And so on..