It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Airbus A380 - Danger button?

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 16 2007 @ 04:55 AM
link   
First: I have very little knowledge of aircraft in general... So please deny my ignorance...

I received a series of pictures of the A380 showing of the rather impressive airplane being built, as well of the finished product including the breathtaking cockpit. Something that caught my eye is a big red box next to the pilot's seat with Danger written on it. It reminded me of a cartoon with the big red button that shouldn't be pushed...?

The function of this button/box is still unclear though. Some claim that the "Danger" box contains an emergency STOP button; if a pilot- wishes to disembark midair it will bring the plane to a complete stop"... As I said I don't know much about flying, but I don't see how bringing a giant airplane to a complete stop will get you out of danger - not even to mention that it's impossible to bring something that's flying to a complete stop - seeing that it will stop flying.

Others say it's for some sort of "escape chute" to open up. (The clowns say it's where pilots dump the bad airline food...
)

Do some of the more informed people perhaps know what this "button" is for?

Link to PICTURE in question

posted on Jan, 16 2007 @ 06:03 AM
link   
eject, eject, eject punch the canopy

no seriously i would suspect its for evaluation of test aircraft.
but thats just a guess

posted on Jan, 16 2007 @ 06:16 AM
link   
I dont know what it is but its clearly not for bringing the plane to a complete stop. As you said it would stop flying, probably just fall out of the sky!

I agree that its probably something to do with the test aircraft, maybe an emergency stop for the engines or something.

posted on Jan, 16 2007 @ 06:25 AM
link