It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Su-27 Flanker: The Truth

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Jan, 3 2007 @ 03:54 PM
link   
I have watched long and hard the many debates that have exploded on this section of ATS and admitedly, I get sick from the kind of bilge thrown around here. You have the near-fascist role-playing game space cadet drivel coming from the Seekerofs and WestPoints, all the way to the childish nationalistic chest-thumping of the StealthSpys and chinawhites. I really didn't want to trash anybody here, but I feel like somebody has to maintain some rationality here. I will specifically address the Su-27, since it seems to generate a lot of pride and anger among people around here.

Now, I am no aerospace engineer, my math abilities are fundamentals-only, and my area of specialty is institutions, society, and tactics, not physics. However, I will share some very basic, fundamental knowledge of the Su-27. By the end of this reading, you will lose a lot of respect for the Su-27 but also gain a lot of admiration for it as well.

Most of the time, the point is well-reserved for the end. However, I will make the point right now: the Su-27 IS NOT the F-16. The F-16C is the best fighter in the U.S. inventory, and that is why the Su-27 is not the F-16. Vice versa, the Su-27 (or the entire Flanker family) is the best fighter in the Russian inventory, and that is why it is not the F-16. The space cadets would love to compare the two, but adult wisdom says that the only commonality the two fighters have is that they are both fighters. Now that its been established, here are major points to consider when evaluating the Su-27's effectiveness as a fighter jet: