It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.


Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.


Newz Forum: GOLF: Mickelson the big winner at Exelon Invitational

page: 1

log in


posted on Jun, 7 2004 @ 06:34 PM
Avondale, PA - Masters champion Phil Mickelson won a chip-off Monday to claim eight of his 11 skins en route to winning $240,000 at the sixth annual Exelon Invitational hosted by Jim Furyk.

Chad Campbell, this year's Bay Hill Invitational winner, took second place with four skins and $37,500. Big hitting John Daly claimed third place with three skins and $22,500, while Mercedes Championships winner Stuart Appleby was shutout.

Furyk, the reigning U.S. Open champion and tournament host, was on hand but unable to play as he recovers from wrist surgery. That surgery will also keep him from defending his crown at the U.S. Open at Shinnecock Hills Golf Club on Long Island.

Daly jumped out to the early lead as he sank a 15-footer on No. 3 to win the first three skins. Campbell picked up the next two skins when he won the par-three fifth. He won two more skins with a 15-foot birdie on the seventh.

From there, it was all Mickelson. He won three skins and $45,000 when he won the 10th. After sinking his putt, Mickelson made a mock jump, much like the one he did after sinking the winning putt at the Masters.

The players carried over the final eight skins into a playoff. They had to blast out of a greenside sand trap towards the cup at the 18th. Appleby, Campbell and Daly left there shots short of the hole. Mickelson then flew his shot passed the pin and spun it back within four feet to win the closest to the pin and claim the final eight skins and $195,000.

The Exelon Invitational is an annual skins match where the pros compete for a purse of $300,000. This year the event sold a record 14,000 tickets and collected a record $113,000 for the Boys & Girls Clubs of Philadelphia. Past participants have included David Toms, David Duval, Davis Love III, Nick Price, Jesper Parnevik and Justin Leonard.


log in