It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.


Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.


Newz Forum: SOCCER: Thierry Henry wins another award

page: 1

log in


posted on May, 10 2004 @ 11:32 AM
Arsenal's Thierry Henry has become the first player to win the Footballer of the Year award in successive seasons.The French striker polled 87% of the votes cast in the poll by the English Football Writers' Association.

Chelsea's England star Frank Lampard was second, while Henry's Arsenal colleague Patrick Vieira was third. He won football's oldest individual award for the first time last year when he pipped Manchester United striker Ruud van Nistelrooy to the post by a narrow margin.Since the award was introduced in 1947-48, no-one had previously won it in successive seasons and only six other players had won it twice Sir Stanley Matthews, Sir Tom Finney, Danny Blanchflower, Kenny Dalglish, John Barnes and Gary Lineker. Henry has scored 37 goals this term, including 29 in the Premier League, to help Arsenal clinch the title. The Gunners are one game away from completing their campaign unbeaten.

[Edited on 10/5/04 by TRD]

new topics

log in