It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Fishing Kit

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 28 2006 @ 10:51 PM
link   
I am working on my BOB and mini survival kits. I'm not an expert fisherman so I was hoping to get some input on the perfect fishing kit. Although I need it to be as compact as possible I don't want to sacrifice quality and durability for a little weight or size.

I tried some of the military issue kits but I find that they could be much better.

THanks

posted on Dec, 28 2006 @ 11:03 PM
link   
20 lb line is great for general use. Use larger than normal hooks as well, less chance of wear and tear / misuse snapping / breaking them.

Also, start making swim traps out of strips of sharpend wood.. i'll see if theres an online guide to show you what i mean, but they are great replacements for actual line and hooks.

above all, remember that if the stuff hits the fan, the hooks and line may be the difference between warm and fed, and cold and hungry.

Practise with them as much as you can in good conditions, then the bad won't catch you out.

posted on Dec, 28 2006 @ 11:07 PM
link   
I recommend getting a beginners guide book to fishing. Not all fish are that good to eat and different fish swim and feed in different places. Knowing where to fish, what your fishing for, and what baits is vital. It will make the difference between a rather bony tiddler and nice fat trout

Although, if you have access to explosives, even small amounts, the shockwaves from a detonation would be enough to stun plenty of fish to eat. Just don't be caught in the explosion yourself!

posted on Dec, 29 2006 @ 02:19 AM
link   
Thanks, I'd appreciate the guide if you can find anything. All great advice to start with. What do you guys think about spyder wire for combo fishing line and general repairs?