It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.


Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.


American Football: NFL Hall Of Fame Class of 2005

page: 1

log in


posted on Feb, 5 2005 @ 11:12 AM
The Class of 2005:

Benny Friedman - Quarterback - 1927 Cleveland Bulldogs, 1928 Detroit Wolverines, 1929-1931 New York Giants, 1932-1934 Brooklyn Dodgers

Dan Marino - Quarterback - 1983-1999 Miami Dolphins

Fritz Pollard - Back/Coach - 1919-1921, 1925-1926 Akron Pros/Indians, 1922 Milwaukee Badgers, 1923-1924 Gilberton Cadamounts (independent pro team), 1923, 1925 Hammond Pros, 1925 Providence Steam Roller

Steve Young - Quarterback - 1985-1986 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 1987-1999 San Francisco 49ers

[Edited on 2/5/2005 by crayon]

posted on Feb, 5 2005 @ 11:38 AM
here is a little more info on this years inductees, we all remember marino and young, and i don't think that anyone can doubt their worthieness, the two new members elected by the vetrans committee look like good choices as well...congrats to all the new members in canton

Marino, Young make Hall of Fame

By BARRY WILNER, AP Football Writer
February 5, 2005
JACKSONVILLE, Fla. (AP) -- Dan Marino and Steve Young made it a great day for quarterbacks when both were elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Marino, the most prolific passer in NFL history, and Young, whose accuracy and speed made him one of football's most versatile QBs, were joined by Bennie Friedman, an early-era quarterback, and Fritz Pollard.

Each received at least 80 percent of the votes from the panel of sports writers and broadcasters.

Friedman and Pollard were chosen by the senior committee.

Induction ceremonies will be Aug. 7 in Canton, Ohio.

When Marino left the Miami Dolphins after the 1999 season, he had NFL bests of 4,967 completions, 8,358 passes, 61,361 yards and 420 touchdowns. His record of 48 TD passes in a season was recently broken by Peyton Manning.

Although he never won a Super Bowl, Marino was the 1984 league MVP, made three All-Pro teams and nine Pro Bowls. When he retired, he owned 21 NFL marks, including most seasons with 3,000 yards or more passing (13); most yards passing in one season (5,084 in '84, the only year he won a conference championship); and most games with 300 yards or more passing (63).

Young won the 1995 Super Bowl with San Francisco and was the league's most valuable player in 1992 and '94. A clever runner with a strong arm and great field vision, Young made seven Pro Bowls and was a three-time All-Pro. He held the highest passer rating in league history (96.8) when he retired in '99. He also set the highest single-season rating of 112.8, which Manning also broke this season.

Pollard not only was the first black head coach in the NFL, in 1921, but a superb player, too. A running back, he led the Akron Pros to the fledgling league's 1920 championship with an undefeated record.

He later organized the Chicago Brown Bombers, an independent team of black players that barnstormed the country from 1927-33.

Friedman played for four teams from 1927-34 and was one of the early NFL's great quarterbacks. A contemporary of Red Grange, he also was a strong draw at the box office. Giants owner Tim Mara purchased the Detroit Wolverines, for whom Friedman played in 1928, not only to get him in New York's lineup but to fill the stands.

Michael Irvin and Harry Carson, the other two finalists, did not get the required votes for induction.

posted on Feb, 5 2005 @ 12:27 PM
Congrats to the new members of the Hall.


log in