It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Harrier Jump-Jet discussion.

page: 1
<<   2 >>

join
share:

posted on Dec, 9 2006 @ 05:20 PM
link   
We all know that the Harrier is about to go the way of the do-do with the F-35B S/VTOL variant, although I'm a little upset about that, even though the F-35 is an impressive aircraft, I've always liked the Harrier. I was watching the Military channel the other day, and they had the Top 10 Fighters of all time on there, the Harrier was around number 8 I believe. Anyways, they said that for the Harrier to have it's VTOL capability, it couldn't be supersonic, and it wasn't very maneuverable. Why simply could they not have designed a Harrier variant with 2 engines(I'm actually doing a design of this right now, for anyone that would like to see, I'm no aircraft engineer, it's just for fun.), or at least put a more powerful engine into the fighter, and perhaps give it more wing space to make it more nimble. There are quite a few things they could have done in my opinion to bring the Harrier frame into the 21st century. I guess the true answer is that technology must move forward, and the F-35 is the new direction.

Mostly just me ranting cause I like the Harrier XD

posted on Dec, 9 2006 @ 05:31 PM
link   
Now I'm not going to pretend to know what I'm talking about, but bear with me!

I believe that the Harrier is the way it is, is to keep it small enough to operate from aircraft carriers and smaller airfields that usually could not cater for jet aircraft.

Also, I think it's role is more chase off the enemy than actually take them on.

Someone will be able to explain it better than me though.

posted on Dec, 9 2006 @ 05:40 PM
link   
40 years ago they wanted to make such an aircraft

but like every revolutionary aircraft of the time - it got cancelled.