It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Massive number of US naval forces heading for the Persian Gulf

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Oct, 20 2006 @ 02:58 PM
link   
Some say it is muscle flexing only... I doubt whether it really is the case here, but don't get me wrong I am not claiming that the current activities would neceserilly mean preparations for war. Besides, I'm not a navy expert.

What if the Republicans fear the Democrats to get into control of the congress and launch an attack on Iran prior to the elections, or is the position of the congress totatally irrelevant when it comes to deciding whether the US should go to war or not?

However, should this purely speculative scenario become reality, withdrawing forces would become impossible.

Anyhow, by the end of the month there will be a massive number of US forces deployed in the Persian Gulf:

The Iwo Jima ESG
USS Iwo Jima (LHD 7)
USS Nashville (LPD 13)
USS Whidbey Island ('___' 41)

Carrier Strike Group 12
USS Enterprise CVN 65
USS Philippine Sea (CG 58)
USS Gettysburg (CG 64)
USS Detroit (AOE 4)

The Norfolk-based aircraft carrier Enterprise with its embarked air wing, Carrier Air Wing (CVW) 1. Also joining the Enterprise CSG for part of its deployment is the Argentine destroyer, ARA Sarandi (D 13). The integration of this foreign navy destroyer into the strike group’s training and deployment is expected to build interoperability between the U.S. and Argentine navies, and also set guidelines for future efforts with other coalition partners.

IKE CSG
USS Eisenhower CVN 69