It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Tesla Coil Help needed please!

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Oct, 16 2006 @ 07:33 AM
link   
HI all

This a primarily a question for members in the UK,as its where i live.
I am constructing a tesla coil and i need a UK source for 0.56mm enammelled wire/magnet wire.I know Maplin sell it but i need a 300 metre length.

Anyone know a UK supplier of this wire?

Most only sell it in 130 metre lenghs,and i really want to avoid joining pieces together.

I really should have worked out the wire length before i bought and constructed the other parts,but oh well too late now.Its my first attempt at a TC so the learning curve is quite steep.
Thanks for any help!

posted on Oct, 16 2006 @ 11:11 AM
link   

posted on Oct, 16 2006 @ 01:08 PM
link   
Not long enough from Maplin,Sardion.Thanks for looking though.

I need 300 metres on one roll.

They do have the correct sort there,but in ain`t long enough.

AAArgh,oh well anyone whos building a tesla coil,make sure you can get the secondary coil wire before you buy or make all the other bits. Heh heh,darn.

Ill get it one way or another.

posted on Oct, 16 2006 @ 01:24 PM
link   
Don't you have any electronics stores in the UK? We got them in Toronto and you can either get or order any amounts of gear you can dream of. Got a yellow pages over there?

posted on Oct, 16 2006 @ 01:32 PM
link   
I tell ya man,i thought i would have no probs getting the wire.Its turning into a real struggle though.Lots of Electrics stores,lots of magnet wire.
None of the 0.56mm long enough so far.I may have to get a different thickness but i really want to stick to the plan...took me ages to work out all the physics equations and i know my calculations will be off if i get a different thickness.