It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

No "ifs", "ands" or "BUTTS" -- I've quit smoking!

page: 1
<<   2  3  4 >>

join
share:

posted on Sep, 11 2006 @ 11:58 AM
link   
It's taken me a while to come to this point. I finally decided to quit smoking "once and for all". I've been smoking cigarettes for about twenty years and it was the stupidest thing that I ever did. Although I've made several attempts in the past to quit smoking, none of those forays into abstinence lasted longer than a few months. This time, I am determined to stop.

I've stocked up on Nicorette gum but I am going to try to do this "cold turkey". Using nicotine substitutes simply doesn't make any sense to me. After all, I would only be prolonging my addiction to nicotine. Of course, I do understand that nicotine gum and patches do help one get past the addiction or, as some call it, the habit of smoking. However, I would like to simply stop smoking on my own. If I am tempted -- strongly -- I will turn to whatever helps me get past those cravings.

Anyway, this is my first day of being a non-smoker. I sure could use some encouragement and any tips that you might have to overcome this stupid and insidious addiction/habit.

And just a word to those who are just starting to smoke -- STOP.....STOP NOW.

posted on Sep, 11 2006 @ 12:02 PM
link   
Good for you! That's awesome. Best of luck to you.
Aside from the obvious good points, look at how much money you'll save!

posted on Sep, 11 2006 @ 12:12 PM
link   
Good for you. The hardest step is usually the first step. Admitting and wanting to stop. I can't offer any advice, because I've failed on numerous occassions, but I will support you and hopefully when I'm ready, you can give me tips after your success.

oh..I did hear exercise is a good substitute.

posted on Sep, 11 2006 @ 12:13 PM