It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

The Iranian Saegheh more capable than an F-18?

page: 1
<<   2  3 >>

join
share:

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 01:54 AM
link   
While reading a report on the Iranian Nuke issue i stumbled across this...

In a separate development, Iran has announced that it has developed a new aircraft named Saegheh (Thunder), which it described as close to the American F-18 fighter jet. General Attollah Salehi, the commander of the Iranian army, was quoted by the state news agency IRNA as saying the fighter jet is similar to the F-18, but more capable. It was manufactured domestically.

source

I'm no military expert, but if this is true this has to be a massive step forward for the Iranian military..

Thoughts? I'm going to see if i can find any more info about this mystery plane..

[edit on 12/06/2005 by kojac]

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 02:30 AM
link   
Its not, more closely related to the F-5 but resembles a YF-17

Heres the lastest pictures

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 05:34 AM
link   
It could basically contain anything inside.

The Iranians have been getting ship loads of new equipment from Russia and China in missiles, cruise missiles, ballistic missiles, air defence equipment, fast torpedo's etc....

I wouldn't be surprised if Russia and China where sending them aircraft parts as well like radars and fire control systems etc...

correct me if im wrong but just going on "looks" of the thing as in size wise it seems as if it could be big enough to house fire control systems, radars etc... from an SU-27(SU-30mk, SU-35 etc..) or a MiG-31.

posted on Sep, 7 2006 @ 05:53 AM
link   
Interesting design concepts on the aircraft for stealth.

take a look at this picture: