It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Social Issues - Economies - Ramblings on Insurance

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Aug, 3 2006 @ 07:42 PM
link   
I would like to discuss briefly two kinds of insurance. 1) Life insurance. 2) Property insurance.

For 9 ½ years I worked as a claims adjuster for Calvert Fire Insurance, Travelers Insurance and State Farm Mutual in Florida. I handled claims in Kentucky, Indiana and Florida.

Insurance is a unique product. It is not an arms-length commercial transaction. It is not a caveat emptor - let the buyer beware - contract. The purchaser must truthfully reveal to the seller personal information including the state of his health and his credit standing among other facts. He must permit free access to and disclose the true value of the property he wants to insure. Failure to tell the truth may void the insurance policy.

Uncommon terms, such as coverages, options, waivers, exclusions, limitations, definitions, fair market value, replacement cost, deductibles, and pre-existing conditions are all terms of art to the industry. These and others as well. The buyer gets little unbiased help or useful information from the seller when deciding what or how much insurance he needs. Customers usually buy what the company’s agent recommends, assuming he can afford the price.