This topic is in the ATS Sponsored Games & Events discussion forum.  (rss)


Part of the game is finding the game?


<<  1    2  >>

Topic started on 3-8-2006 @ 01:09 PM by Fiverz


I just noticed this banner ad pop up when I refreshed the ATS home page a few times. I don't know if it is for the new game or if it was up before for the final answer game but it says:

Part of the game is finding the game.

The URL of the linked image is:

adserver.abovetopsecret.com...

which is the same as all the other banner ads, only it goes back to the ATS home page.

Is this for the current game (suggesting that the start of the game is somewhere on the ATS homepage) or is it for the old final answer game? Can anyone verify this?



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 01:10 PM by Crakeur


beat you to it fiverz - posted the same thing



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 01:12 PM by cheshire cat


Good catch. I couldn't find that on the link you sent though. Now I've gotta look harder.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 01:14 PM by Crakeur


when you click the link it takes you back to the ats front page - meaning the start can be found somewhere on the site.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 01:56 PM by Fiverz


Time to find the game! Guess I'm not getting paid for a week or two ...



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 07:49 PM by sillinous1


What just happened? did pages of posts here get deleted?



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 07:50 PM by codylawyer99


I also would like to know where they went?



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 07:51 PM by sdp333





reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 08:00 PM by codylawyer99


Can anyone acess bonus.thefinalanswertoeverything.com... I'm getting a 403 Forbidden page when I go there.

Edit: This now on bonus.thefinalanswertoeverything.com
Sorry, bonus.thefinalanswertoeverything.com was a benign mini-hoax whipped up by me.

The question was: "keeps spinning in the mountains..."
The answer was: "testatika.html"

this lead to the following:
"Sorry guys, just couldn´t resist... Now let´s find the real game together!"

Unfortunatly it seems I´ve been banned over this, despite my eplanation to SO... :-(

Maybe Mechanic32 as well, but he shouldn´t be as he was not in on it.

Goodbye guys.. Stay skeptic.

HardToGet

Well, that sucks. Time to go look for the real game.

[edit on 3-8-2006 by codylawyer99]



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 08:42 PM by Freenrgy2


Guess I should be glad that I couldn't get to the site after all.

Man, that sucks. I thought it was legit but glad the three wise dudes stopped it in a hurry.

Still, it won't disuade me from finding the real game.

I guess i'm just a bit dazed as to why two distinguished members would risk banning themselves over a stupid stunt like that.

[edit on 3-8-2006 by Freenrgy2]



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 09:49 PM by Fiverz


Well now that the hoax mess is over ... back to my original idea. Does anyone know if that banner was up during the other game? It might be a leftover ... or it might not be.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 3-8-2006 @ 11:05 PM by sillinous1



Originally posted by Fiverz
Well now that the hoax mess is over ... back to my original idea. Does anyone know if that banner was up during the other game? It might be a leftover ... or it might not be.


I dont believe the 'part of the game is finding the game' was up during the game. It was replaced by 'the final answer to everything' banner shortly after the game was officially anounced as an ATS game.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 08:50 AM by Fiverz


Ok time to start looking. The game IS on somewhere ... and it's on the site somewhere. I'm gonna start looking for some UFO stuff.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 09:09 AM by Kellter


I located This post in the Space Exploration forum which is intriguing. ATS has used freely available sites in the past for games. This kind of ties in with the "out there" clue and I remember a mod sporting a planet avatar recently and a planet is the icon for this forum.

My guesses are usually wrong but I figured I'd throw this out there.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 09:14 AM by Crakeur


I missed all the hoax stuff and my thread was trashed so I don't know if this was addressed but prior to the trashing a tag was added that read htg sig.

might be a clue to where to begin.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 09:16 AM by Fiverz


Yea I've seen that before ... I don't think it's related but it was worth taking a look at

I'm thinking it has to be another off-site URL ... I'm not entirely convinced that it will be a link here on ATS though ... maybe just some text mentioning it. Good thing my weekend starts now



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 09:17 AM by Fiverz



Originally posted by Crakeur
I missed all the hoax stuff and my thread was trashed so I don't know if this was addressed but prior to the trashing a tag was added that read htg sig.

might be a clue to where to begin.


That was part of a hoax ... a spoofed website of thefinalanswer. We are back to square one of having nothing but ATS's post about the game, and the blinking banner.



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 10:49 AM by elevatedone


Okay, I got the flashing link... clicked it, got to the ATS main page.

I've been scanning it over, clicking some things etc... nothing happens....

However one thing stands out to me...

Under the "Hot Discussions" section at the top of the page... theres a thread that still shows up, even though you can't reply to it or even read what it was...

it simply says...

Part Of The Game...

It appears to be a "trashed thread" that is in the mods trashbin.... but why would it continue to show up on the "hot Discussions" page, shouldnt it just go away...???

Just a though.

[edit on 4-8-2006 by elevatedone]



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 10:53 AM by Fiverz


That was a thread that got trashed last night due to the "finalanswertoeverything bonus" hoax. I'm guessing it still shows up there because it it's an automatic thing when a thread recieves 25 replies.

[edit on 4-8-2006 by Fiverz]



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


reply posted on 4-8-2006 @ 11:02 AM by Fiverz


The game is out there according to Springer.

Could it be a clue?



reply to this post:   copyright & usage 


<<  1    2  >>







Find More:





Top Topics Right Now:






Active Topics Right Now:






ATS MIX Podcasts:


Recently Added Videos







Newest Topics:







































ATS Server: www3.theabovenetwork.com
Powered by AboveTop:Board v2.3
Header data processed in 0.007 seconds
Page processed in 0.092 seconds
8 total database queries (2)









The Above Top Secret Conspiracy Community Web site is a wholly owned social content community of The Above Network, LLC.

thread