It looks like you're using an Ad Blocker.

Please white-list or disable AboveTopSecret.com in your ad-blocking tool.

Thank you.

Some features of ATS will be disabled while you continue to use an ad-blocker.

Geologist warns: bigger quake in Java or Krakatoa eruption soon

page: 1

join
share:

posted on Jul, 20 2006 @ 05:43 AM
link   
I had been wondering why there were so many aftershocks to the Java´s quake, but as I am not an expert, I thought it could be normal. Even though, I was surprised to see that all these aftershocks were taking place on different locations to the original quake that originated the tsunami.

I was going to ask ATS members about it, when I came across an amazing information on the Net. I haven´t been able to find the data in English yet (would be grateful if you can add a link in english) but as it is important, I add the link and try to translate the best part of the article for those who do not speak Spanish.

External Source translated.

Source: El Universal

An earthquake, magnitude 6.1 has taken place on the western part of Java Island.

Geologist Yusuf Surachman, from the Agency of Meteorology and Geophysics stated that the Monday quake was just the first of a series of earthquakes and that there will be a major one above magnitude 8 in the area.

According to Surachman, quakes are movingo to the Sonda Strait and if the epicentre moves to the Sonda Strait two things can happen: a major earthquake or the eruption of the Krakatoa Volcano.

If this happens... There is a possibility for that quake to trigger another tsunami.

posted on Jul, 20 2006 @ 06:06 AM
link